23.06.2021

PLAYTIME

On the outskirts of Paris, an upright city, an airport concourse, American tourists, Monsieur Hulot, a missed appointment, endless back and forths, a lift, a Household Arts Show, misunderstandings, reflections, open-space offices, an American girl, preparations for the Royal Garden restaurant opening night, cocktail jackets and dinner jackets, dancing all night, mornings at the drugstore across the street, an anonymous sprig of lily of the valley, cars and buses, like a final ballet.

 

Playtime, released in 1967, is Jacques Tati’s fourth feature film. The director plays with lines and surfaces. Shades of bluish grey where steel, glass and concrete structures are mixed.

 

Jacques Tati uses wide and long shots to enlarge space and distend time. In these vast shots where dozens of characters and details swarm, the eye wanders, searches and chooses. The shots duration also gives time to see, apprehend and think. This is the opposite of the contemporary habit of jerky editing which, under the pretext of dynamism, transforms the spectator into a consumer of the show, only responding to stimuli.

 

Skyscrapers modern architecture, airport halls and offices resonates with the characters’ suits rigour. The world is standardised: the large concrete bars are the counterpart of the grey flannel three-button suits worn by the workers. They come to the office holding the same black briefcase, wearing the same perfectly polished black leather shoes. In this consumer society, people have also become products.

 

Monsieur Hulot, a key character in Jacques Tati’s universe, stands out from the mass of grey suits. On the fringes of a world that has become global, the man evolves in his taupe suit, velvet calf shoes, tweed overcoat with a gun-club motif that belong to a bygone era. The individual against the mass.

HUSBANDS

Jacques Tati organising traffic, Playtime set, 1967

Jacques Tati organising traffic, Playtime set, 1967

M. Hulot in the street, Playtime, 1967

M. Hulot in the street, Playtime, 1967

M. Hulot arrives at his interview, Playtime, 1967

M. Hulot arrives at his interview, Playtime, 1967

M. Hulot sitting in the waiting room, Playtime, 1967

M. Hulot sitting in the waiting room, Playtime, 1967

apartments, Playtime, 1967

apartments, Playtime, 1967

the city, Playtime, 1967

the city, Playtime, 1967

the city's streets, Playtime, 1967

the city's streets, Playtime, 1967

23.06.2021

PLAYTIME

Aux alentours de Paris, une ville droite et debout, un hall d’aéroport, des touristes américaines, Monsieur Hulot, un rendez-vous manqué, un va-et-vient perpétuel, un ascenseur, un Salon des Arts ménagers, des quiproquos, des reflets, des bureaux en open-space, une jeune américaine, les préparatifs de la soirée d’ouverture du restaurant Royal Garden, des vestes de cocktails et des smokings, de la danse toute la nuit, le matin au drugstore d’en face, un brin de muguet anonyme, des voitures et des bus, comme un ballet final.

 

Playtime, sorti en 1967, est le quatrième long métrage de Jacques Tati. Le réalisateur y multiplie les jeux de lignes et de surface. Un camaïeu de gris bleuté où se mêlent structures d’acier, de verre et de béton.

 

Jacques Tati utilise le plan d’ensemble et le montage long : l’un pour élargir l’espace, l’autre pour distendre le temps. Dans ces vastes plans où fourmillent dizaines de personnages et de détails, le regard flâne, cherche et choisit. La durée des plans laisse elle aussi le temps de voir, d’appréhender et de penser. Une volonté opposée à l’habitude contemporaine du montage saccadé qui, sous prétexte de dynamiser, transforme le spectateur en consommateur du spectacle, ne répondant plus qu’à des stimuli.

 

L’architecture moderne des gratte-ciels, des halls d’aéroport et des bureaux entre en résonance avec la rigueur des costumes portés par les personnages. Le monde est standardisé : les grandes barres bétonnées sont le pendant des costumes trois boutons en flanelle grises portés par les travailleurs. Ces derniers viennent aux bureaux en tenant le même attaché case noir, chaussés des mêmes souliers en cuir noir parfaitement cirés. Dans cette société de consommation, les hommes aussi sont eux-aussi devenus des produits.

 

Monsieur Hulot, personnage-clef de l’univers de Jacques Tati, se détache de la masse des costumes gris. En marge d’un monde devenu global, l’homme évolue dans son costume taupe, ses chaussures en veau-velours, son pardessus en tweed à motif gun-club qui appartiennent à une époque révolue. L’individu contre la masse.

HUSBANDS

VESTE DROITE EN TWEED – GUNCLUB TABAC
Jacques Tati organise le trafic, tournage de Playtime, 1967

Jacques Tati organise le trafic, tournage de Playtime, 1967

M. Hulot dans la rue, Playtime, 1967

M. Hulot dans la rue, Playtime, 1967

M. Hulot arrive à son entretien, Playtime, 1967

M. Hulot arrive à son entretien, Playtime, 1967

M. Hulot assis en salle d'attente, Playtime, 1967

M. Hulot assis en salle d'attente, Playtime, 1967

appartements, Playtime, 1967

appartements, Playtime, 1967

la ville, Playtime, 1967

la ville, Playtime, 1967

les rues de la ville, Playtime, 1967

les rues de la ville, Playtime, 1967