STUDIO 54

“The greatest club of all time” – Ahmet Ertegun, Atlantic Record New York founder, 1977.

Steve Rubell and Ian Schrager decide to open a new nightclub in 1977: Studio 54 is born. Located at 273 West 54th, the club quickly became the temple of Disco music. It was a time of recklessness and the opening of the Studio 54 was a sign of the times.

Studio 54: from theater to party temple

The interior was hidden by two large black doors that marked the beginning of an initiatory journey ending on the dance floor. This former theater renovated into a dancefloor revolutionized the way to party. Studio 54 was open every night and was always packed. Dancing and watching people dance, attending the show and being part of the performance.

Dictatorship at the door but a democracy inside

Being accepted inside Studio 54 was no easy task. Steve Rubell was known to be ruthless at the entrance, celebrities and strangers alike, and only the best dressed were allowed in. Andy Warhol referred to Studio 54 as “a dictatorship at the door but a democracy inside”. Blazers with gold buttons, cream tuxedo jackets, midnight blue or bottle green velvet jackets: any means to stand out from the crowd and get a chance at the entrance. Bankers, drag-queens, actors, singers, fashion designers, gigolos, all mixed together for an evening, connected by a sharp sense of style and an immoderate love of partying. An uncompromising selection at the entrance so notorious that when the two founders launched their first “Studio 54” jeans, a slogan imposed itself: “Now everybody can get into Studio 54”.

1981 : the end of the party

Following a search on the night of December 31, 1979, Rubell and Schrager were arrested and forced to close down after police discovered nearly $2.5 million worth of drugs inside the nightclub. The studio was repurchased at 4,5 million dollars and opened again on September 12, 1981, but the underground soul of the place was no more. It was the end of an era: on July 12, 1979, the radio host Steve Dahl organized the burning of vinyl records in a baseball field in order to put back on the front of the stage the rock music that disco had eclipsed. The event, dubbed “The Disco Demolition Night”, initiated the decline of that musical style, of which Studio 54 was the symbol and which disappeared with it.

JAGGER, Bianca. JAGGER Mick. Studio 54, New York City, United States. 1977. 

ALLEN, Barbara. FERRY, Bryan. Studio 54, New York City, United States. 1977. 

VON FÜRSTENBERG, Diane. DILLER, Barry. Studio 54, New York City, United States. 1977.

BELMONDO, Jean-Paul, act. Studio 54, New York City, United States. 1977. 

A night at Studio 54 compilation. 1979. 

HALL, Jerry. WARHOL, Andy. HARRY, Debbie. CAPOTE, Truman. PICASSO, Paloma. Studio 54, New York City, United States. 1977. 

COOLIDGE, Rita. KRISTOFFERSON, Kris. Studio 54, New York City, United States. 1977.

RUBELL, Steve. ROSSELLINI, Franco. Studio 54, New York City, United States. 1977.

Studio 54, New York City, United States. 1977.

0
    Your Cart close
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop
    *free delivery above minimum order value and customs taxes included in prices, for international customers
    This is default text for notification bar

16.03.2021

STUDIO 54

« Le meilleur club de tous les temps. » – Ahmet Ertegun, fondateur d’Atlantic Record New York, 1977.

Steve Rubell et Ian Schrager, décident d’ouvrir une nouvelle discothèque en 1977 : le Studio 54 est né. Situé au 273 West 54th, le club devient rapidement le temple de la musique disco. L’ouverture du studio 54 s’inscrit dans une période d’insouciance.

L’intérieur de la discothèque était caché par deux grandes portes noires qui marquaient le début d’un parcours initiatique se finissant sur la piste de danse. Cet ancien théâtre rénové en club révolutionne la façon de faire la fête. Studio 54 est ouvert tous les soirs et ne désemplit plus. Danser et regarder les gens danser, assister au spectacle et prendre part à la performance.

Être accepté à l’intérieur du Studio 54 n’était pas chose aisée. Steve Rubell était réputé pour être impitoyable à l’entrée, célébrités comme inconnus, et seules les personnes les mieux habillées pouvaient rentrer. Andy Warhol parlait du Studio 54 comme d’une « dictature à la porte mais d’une démocratie à l’intérieur ». Blazer à boutons dorés, veste de smoking crème, veste en velours bleu nuit ou vert bouteille, tous les moyens étaient bons pour sortir du lot et avoir une chance à l’entrée. Banquiers, drag-queens, acteurs, chanteurs, couturiers, gigolos, tous se mélangent le temps d’une soirée, liés par un sens aiguisé du style et par un amour immodéré de la fête. Une intransigeante sélection à l’entrée si notoire que lorsque les deux fondateurs lancent leurs premiers jeans « Studio 54 », un slogan s’impose : « Now everybody can get into Studio 54 ».

À la suite d’une perquisition dans la nuit du 31 décembre 1979, Rubell et Schrager sont arrêtés et contraints à la fermeture, la police ayant découvert à l’intérieur de la discothèque l’équivalent de près de 2,5 millions de dollars de drogue. Le studio est racheté 4,5 millions de dollars et ouvre de nouveau le 12 septembre 1981, mais l’âme underground du lieu n’est plus. C’est la fin d’une époque : le 12 juillet 1979, un animateur de radio du nom Steve Dahl organise un autodafé de disques vinyles dans un terrain de baseball afin de remettre sur le devant de la scène la musique rock que le disco avait éclipsé. L’événement surnommé « The Disco Demolition Night » amorce le déclin du style musical, dont le studio 54 était le symbole et qui disparaît en même temps que lui.

HUSBANDS

HUSBANDS 03
mix « Cover A night at Studio 54 », 1979

mix « Cover A night at Studio 54 », 1979

Studio 54, New York, 1977

Studio 54, New York, 1977

Diane von Furstenberg et Barry Diller, Studio 54, New York, 1977

Diane von Furstenberg et Barry Diller, Studio 54, New York, 1977

Kris Kristofferson et Rita Coolidge, Studio 54, New York, 1977

Kris Kristofferson et Rita Coolidge, Studio 54, New York, 1977

Bianca Jagger et Mick Jagger, Studio 54, New York, 2 Mai 1977

Bianca Jagger et Mick Jagger, Studio 54, New York, 2 Mai 1977

Steve Rubell et Franco Rossellini, Studio 54, New York, 1977

Steve Rubell et Franco Rossellini, Studio 54, New York, 1977

Jean-Paul Belmondo, Studio 54, New York, 1978

Jean-Paul Belmondo, Studio 54, New York, 1978

Bryan Ferry et Barbara Allen, Studio 54, New York, 1977

Bryan Ferry et Barbara Allen, Studio 54, New York, 1977

Jerry Hall, Andy Waarhol, Debbie Harry, Truman Capote et Paloma Picasso, Studio 54, New York, 1977

Jerry Hall, Andy Waarhol, Debbie Harry, Truman Capote et Paloma Picasso, Studio 54, New York, 1977